Go Yo Radio Show Ep. 2: Perception

Perception

How we perceive people

  • When we see people, we draw an automatic conclusion What are your conclusions as you look at these few pictures?

  • This keeps us from genuinely getting to know people for who they are.
    • We may miss out on getting to know some great people or miss out on reaching those people with the Gospel.
  • It causes us to, unknowingly, fit in to a stereotype.
    • I don’t want to fit neatly into one of societies boxes. It would keep me from reaching different kinds of people and would cause me to make unwise decisions when trying to relate to people.

1 Samuel 16:7

But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or his stature, because I have rejected him. Man does not see what the Lord sees, for man sees what is visible, but the Lord sees the heart

  • People are not always who they appear to be.
    • This can be a negative or a positive.
  • We should not be held back because people see us a certain way.
    • I can be great, even if others see me as small!
    • God can also humble me if people see me as great.
    • God does not work according to human stereotypes.
  • God is the judge of my character and my person, not other people.
    • I should live to please God no matter what others think of me.
    • I should be great, no matter what others think of me
    • For God weighs the heart and not the appearance.

“The reality is that the Lord never calls the qualified; He qualifies the called.”

Henry T. Blackaby

Leave a Reply

