Notes from Fusion 4-8-2015

Read my notes

Click to view Student Notes

  • Opening Questions
    • Can anyone describe what it means to be a lukewarm Christian?
    • What are some of the symptoms of lukewarm Christianity?
  • Revelation 3:14-22 (HCSB)

“Write to the angel of the church in Laodicea:

“The Amen, the faithful and true Witness, the Originator of God’s creation says: I know your works, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish that you were cold or hot. So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I am going to vomit you out of My mouth. Because you say, ‘I’m rich; I have become wealthy and need nothing,’ and you don’t know that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind, and naked, I advise you to buy from Me gold refined in the fire so that you may be rich, white clothes so that you may be dressed and your shameful nakedness not be exposed, and ointment to spread on your eyes so that you may see. As many as I love, I rebuke and discipline. So be committed and repent. Listen! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and have dinner with him, and he with Me. The victor: I will give him the right to sit with Me on My throne, just as I also won the victory and sat down with My Father on His throne.

Anyone who has an ear should listen to what the Spirit says to the churches.”[1]

  • Christ is the righteous judge
    • He already knows my
      • “I know your works.”
    • He judges the entire world, even the churches.
      • That is the reason this part of the letter exists: to judge the church of Laodicea.
    • This part of the letter is applicable to every Christian.
      • “He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches” (v.22).
    • If God knows our works, including the ones that do not please Him, we have no reason to try and hide them. Confession should be easy for us.
  • Lack of confession is only a symptom of
    • Other symptoms:
      • You attend church because it is what’s expected.
      • You’re sure only to tithe 10% when you could be more generous or more sacrificial.
      • Your idea of worship is limited to singing in church.
      • You are doing nothing to reach your friends and family with the Gospel.
      • You’re not irritated with sinfulness.
      • You do not genuinely love those around you.
    • What does it actually mean to neither be hot nor cold?
      • “For you say, I am rich, I have prospered, and I need nothing, not realizing that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked” (v.17 ESV).
      • To be lukewarm is to confuse worldly prosperity with heavenly prosperity.
      • I can do a lot that I consider to be beneficial, and still be lukewarm.
      • When I do not live in relationship with Christ, I lose my warmth. I am neither hot nor cold.
      • A relationship with Christ is the only valuable pursuit and all other pursuits depend directly on that relationship.
    • How can I keep from being lukewarm?
      • (string illustration, lukewarmness is represented by the string and Christ is represented by the scissors)
      • The only way we can stay warm (or cold) is by the direct intervention of Christ in our lives. Live in relationship with Christ.
      • Christ knocking on the door, salvation or revival?
        • Revival is every day.
        • Our lukewarmness is represented by our lack of change.
      • Are you lukewarm?
        • Are you intent on staying the way you are?
        • Do you look for excuses not to read scripture or pray?
        • Are you constantly justifying your own actions?
        • Are you afraid of being too religious?
      • The truth is that we are always in need of revival. Revival is experienced every day and it only comes from Christ, because Christ is the righteous judge.

[1] Revelation 3:14-22

Leave a Reply

